Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. If you want to find out more see our Privacy Policy

Menu

Institute of Bioengineering

People menu

People

Academics

Prof Amrita Ahluwalia

Professor of Vascular Pharmacology
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8377
Email a.ahluwalia@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Akram Alomainy

Reader in Antennas and Applied Electromagnetics
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3324
Email a.alomainy@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Paul Anderson

Professor of Oral Biology
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5962
Email p.anderson@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Stellios Arseniyadis

Reader in Organic Chemistry /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Industrial Collaboration

Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8445
Email s.arseniyadis@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Helena Azevedo

Reader in Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Operations

Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5282
Email h.azevedo@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Fran Balkwill

Centre Lead, Centre for Cancer and Inflammation /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Research Strategy

Department Barts Cancer Institute
Email f.balkwill@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Mark Baxendale

Reader in Nanotechnology
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5795
Email m.baxendale@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Aylin Baysan

Reader in Cardiology in relation to Minimally Invasive Dentistry (MID)
Department Institute of Dentistry
Email a.baysan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords dental materials

Dr Aleksandra Birn-Jeffery

Lecturer in Bioengineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone 020 7882 3677
Email a.birn-jeffery@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Biomechanics, neuromechanics, neuromuscular, musculoskeletal disease, non-steady tasks

Dr Lorenzo Botto

Visiting Reader in Fluid Mechanics
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7503
Email l.botto@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Sir Mark Caulfield

Co-Director of the WHRI and Professor of Clinical Pharmacology
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3403
Email m.j.caulfield@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Genomics England, Cardiovascular Genomics, hypertension, lipid lowering, statin responses

Prof Xiaodong Chen

Professor
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7983
Email xiaodong.chen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords UWB antennas and arrays, multiband CP antennas, RFID antennas, MIMO antennas

Dr Tina Chowdhury

Senior Lecturer in Regenerative Medicine
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7560
Email t.t.chowdhury@qmul.ac.uk

Dr John Connelly

Reader in Bioengineering
Department Blizard Institute
Telephone 020 7882 7160
Email j.connelly@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Skin, Biomaterials, Mechanobiology, 3D printing

Prof Joost de Bruijn

Professor of Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.d.debruijn@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords hard-tissue replacement materials, bone tissue engineering, adult bone marrow derived stem cells

Dr Robert Donnan

Reader in Terahertz Engineering
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7519
Email r.donnan@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Alan Drew

Professor of Condensed Matter Physics /
Institute of Bioengineering Research Institutional Liaison

Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone 020 7882 3435
Email a.j.drew@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Muon spin spectroscopy, Organic electronics, Spin dynamics, Magnetism, Optical excitation dynamics

Prof Norman Fenton

Professor of Risk Information Management
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Risk Information Management, Risk management for critical systems, Quantitative risk assessment, Probability theory and Bayesian reasoning

Dr Arianna Fornili

Senior Lecturer in Computational Organic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Email a.fornili@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Julien Gautrot

Professor in Biomaterials and Biointerfaces
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.gautrot@qmul.ac.uk

Dr NĂºria Gavara

Honorary Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering and Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6596
Email n.gavara@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Steve Greenwald

Professor of Cardiovascular Mechanics
Department Blizard Institute
Telephone 020 3246 0178
Email s.e.greenwald@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Mechanical factors in the pathogenesis of essential hypertension, nvestigation of structure/elasticity relationships in conduit arteries, Development of non-invasive techniques for the measurement of arterial function

Dr Himadri Gupta

Reader in Bioengineering and Biophysics
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email h.gupta@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Yang Hao

Dean for Research and Professor of Antennas and Electromagnetics
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5341
Email y.hao@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Robert Hill

Professor of Physical Sciences in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44(0)20 7882 5974
Email r.hill@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Karin Hing

Reader in Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email k.a.hing@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Iskratsch

Senior Lecturer in Bioengineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3674
Email t.iskratsch@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cardiomyocytes, Vascular Smooth Muscle Cells, Mechanosensing, Mechanosignalling, Rigidity Sensing, Myofibrillogenesis, Stem Cell Differentiation, Podosome Formation

Prof Martin Knight

Professor of Mechanobiology
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8868
Email m.m.knight@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Rob Krams

Professor in Molecular Bioengineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7940
Email r.krams@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Steffi Krause

Professor of Electroanalytical Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3747
Email s.krause@qmul.ac.uk

Prof David Lee

Deputy Vice Principal for Research (Enterprise) in Science & Eng., Professor of Cell and Tissue Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email d.a.lee@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Daniela Loessner

Reader in Bioengineering and Cancer
Department Barts Cancer Institute
Email d.loessner@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords 3D cell culture, in vitro disease models, humanized animal models, cancer research

Prof Alvaro Mata

Professor of Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6279
Email a.mata@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Anthony Mathur

Professor of Cardiology and Centre Lead for Cardiovascular Medicine and Device Innovation /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Clinical Strategy

Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0) 20 7882 5906
Email a.mathur@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Adina Michael-Titus

Professor of Neuroscience
Department Blizard Institute
Email a.t.michael-titus@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords , , , ,

Prof Dylan Morrissey

Clinical Professor and Consultant Physiotherapist
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone 07941710273
Email d.morrissey@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Experimental Medicine & Rheumatology, Movement and pathology, Inflammation: Experimental Medicine & Pharmacology, musculoskeletal disorders, ink between movement and pathology, tendinopathy, clinical reasoning

Dr Jens Mueller

Reader in Computational Fluid Dynamics and Optimisation
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.mueller@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Nobuoki Ohtani

Professor in Design
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone 020 7882 5269
Email n.ohtani@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Matteo Palma

Reader in Nanoscience (Associate Professor)
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6601
Email m.palma@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords , , , ,

Prof Clive Parini

Professor of Antenna Engineering
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email c.g.parini@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Mangala Patel

Professor in Biomaterials in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Email m.patel@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Francesca Pugliese

Reader in Radiology (HCC) and Consultant in Advanced Cardiovascular Imaging
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone 020 7882 6906
Email f.pugliese@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cardiovascular: Translational Pharmacology & Therapeutic Innovation

Dr Manoj Ramachandran

Honorary Reader /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Clinical Strategy

Department William Harvey Research Institute
Email manoj.ramachandran@bartsandthelondon.nhs.uk
Keywords , , , ,

Dr Simon Rawlinson

Senior Lecturer in Oral Biology
Department Institute of Dentistry
Email s.c.f.rawlinson@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Marina Resmini

Professor of Materials Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3268
Email m.resmini@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Andrei Sapelkin

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Email a.sapelkin@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Richard Schilling

Consultant Cardiologist/Professor
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 3465 5398
Email r.schilling@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cardiac arrhythmia, atrial fibrillation, catheter ablation, pacemaker & ICD implantation, cardiac resynchronisation therapy

Prof Hazel Screen

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email h.r.c.screen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Connective tissue mechanics, Multiscale mechanics, in vitro models, organ-on-a-chip models, mechanical testing

Prof Julia Shelton

Professor of Biomechanical Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.shelton@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Wear properties of joint replacement, Total hip replacements, Surface coatings, Wear particle analysis, Orthopaedic systems

Prof John Stark

Professor of Aerospace Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.p.w.stark@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Gleb Sukhorukov

Professor of Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email g.sukhorukov@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Ken Suzuki

Professor of Translational Cardiovascular Therapeutics
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Email ken.suzuki@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Elizabeth Tanner

Bonfield Professor of Biomedical Materials /
Institute of Bioengineering Institute of Bioengineering Director

Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email k.e.tanner@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords biomaterials, bone and joint replacement, bioactive ceramics, bioactive polymers

Prof Pankaj Vadgama

Professor and Director of IRC in Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email p.vadgama@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Wen Wang

Vice-Principal for Science and Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8871
Email wen.wang@qmul.ac.uk

^ Back to Top