Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. If you want to find out more see our Privacy Policy

Menu

Institute of Bioengineering

Team menu

Team

Academics

Prof Amrita Ahluwalia

Professor of Vascular Pharmacology
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8377
Email a.ahluwalia@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Akram Alomainy

Lecturer
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3324
Email a.alomainy@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Paul Anderson

Reader in Biophysics in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5962
Email p.anderson@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Helena Azevedo

Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Operations

Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5282
Email h.azevedo@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Fran Balkwill

Centre Lead, Centre for Cancer and Inflammation /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Research Strategy

Department Barts Cancer Institute
Email f.balkwill@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Mark Baxendale

Reader in Nanotechnology
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5795
Email m.baxendale@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Aylin Baysan

Clinical Senior Lecturer in Oral Bioengineeering
Department Institute of Dentistry
Email a.baysan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords dental materials

Dr Remzi Becer

Senior Lecturer in Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6534
Email r.becer@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Lorenzo Botto

Lecturer in Simulation-Modelling in Eng. Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7503
Email l.botto@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Mark Caulfield

Centre Lead for Clinical Pharmacology
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3403
Email m.j.caulfield@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Xiaodong Chen

Professor
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7983
Email xiaodong.chen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords UWB antennas and arrays, multiband CP antennas, RFID antennas, MIMO antennas

Dr Tina Chowdhury

Senior Lecturer in Musculoskeletal Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7560
Email t.t.chowdhury@qmul.ac.uk

Dr John Connelly

Reader in Bioengineering
Department Blizard Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7160
Email j.connelly@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Skin, Biomaterials, Mechanobiology, 3D printing

Prof Joost de Bruijn

Professor of Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.d.debruijn@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords hard-tissue replacement materials, bone tissue engineering, adult bone marrow derived stem cells

Dr Robert Donnan

Reader in Terahertz Engineering
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7519
Email r.donnan@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Norman Fenton

Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email n.fenton@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Arianna Fornili

Lecturer in Computational Organic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Email a.fornili@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Julien Gautrot

Senior Lecturer in Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.gautrot@qmul.ac.uk

Dr NĂºria Gavara

Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering and Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6596
Email n.gavara@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Steve Greenwald

Professor of Cardiovascular Mechanics
Department Blizard Institute
Email s.e.greenwald@qmul.c.uk

Dr Himadri Gupta

Senior Lecturer in Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email h.gupta@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Yang Hao

Dean for Research and Professor of Antennas and Electromagnetics /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Industry Strategy

Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5341
Email y.hao@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Robert Hill

Professor of Physical Sciences in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44(0)20 7882 5974
Email r.hill@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Karin Hing

Reader in Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email k.a.hing@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Iskratsch

Lecturer in Bioengineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3677
Email t.iskratsch@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cardiomyocytes, Vascular Smooth Muscle Cells, Mechanosensing, Mechanosignalling, Rigidity Sensing, Myofibrillogenesis, Stem Cell Differentiation, Podosome Formation

Prof Martin Knight

Professor of Mechanobiology
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8868
Email m.m.knight@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Rob Krams

Professor in Molecular Bioengineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7940
Email r.krams@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Steffi Krause

Reader in Electroanalytical Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3747
Email s.krause@qmul.ac.uk

Prof David Lee

Deputy Vice Principal for Research (Enterprise) in Science & Eng., Professor of Cell and Tissue Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email d.a.lee@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Daniela Loessner

Reader in Bioengineering and Cancer
Department Barts Cancer Institute
Email d.loessner@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords 3D cell culture, in vitro disease models, humanized animal models, cancer research

Prof Alvaro Mata

Professor of Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6279
Email a.mata@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Anthony Mathur

Institute of Bioengineering Director of Clinical Strategy
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0) 20 7882 5906
Email a.mathur@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Adina Michael-Titus

Professor of Neuroscience
Department Blizard Institute
Email a.t.michael-titus@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords , , , ,

Dr Dylan Morrissey

NIHR/HEE Consultant Physiotherapist and Clinical Reader
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Email d.morrissey@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Experimental Medicine & Rheumatology, Movement and pathology, Inflammation: Experimental Medicine & Pharmacology

Dr Jens Mueller

Senior Lecturer in Bio-Fluids
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.mueller@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Pavel Novak

Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering and Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email p.novak@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Nobuoki Ohtani

Professor in Design
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email n.ohtani@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Matteo Palma

Lecturer in Chemistry and Biochemistry /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Research Strategy

Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6601
Email m.palma@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Clive Parini

Professor of Antenna Engineering
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email c.g.parini@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Mangala Patel

Reader in Biomaterials in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Email m.patel@qmul.ac.uk

Prof John Priestley

Professor of Cell Biology
Department Blizard Institute
Email j.v.priestley@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Francesca Pugliese

Senior Clinical Lecturer/Consultant in Advanced Cardiovascular Imaging
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Email f.pugliese@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cardiovascular: Translational Pharmacology & Therapeutic Innovation

Dr Manoj Ramachandran

Honorary Reader /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Clinical Strategy

Department William Harvey Research Institute
Email manoj.ramachandran@bartsandthelondon.nhs.uk
Keywords , , , ,

Dr Simon Rawlinson

Senior Lecturer in Oral Biology
Department Institute of Dentistry
Email s.c.f.rawlinson@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Marina Resmini

Professor of Materials Chemistry /
Institute of Bioengineering Director of Industry Strategy

Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3268
Email m.resmini@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Andrei Sapelkin

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Email a.sapelkin@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Richard Schilling

Consultant Cardiologist/Professor
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Telephone +44 (0)20 3465 5398
Email r.schilling@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cardiac arrhythmia, atrial fibrillation, catheter ablation, pacemaker & ICD implantation, cardiac resynchronisation therapy

Prof Hazel Screen

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email h.r.c.screen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Connective tissue mechanics, Multiscale mechanics, in vitro models, organ-on-a-chip models, mechanical testing

Prof Julia Shelton

Professor of Biomechanical Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.shelton@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Wear properties of joint replacement, Total hip replacements, Surface coatings, Wear particle analysis, Orthopaedic systems

Prof John Stark

Professor of Aerospace Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email j.p.w.stark@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Gleb Sukhorukov

Professor of Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email g.sukhorukov@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Ken Suzuki

Professor of Translational Cardiovascular Therapeutics
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Email ken.suzuki@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Elizabeth Tanner

Bonfield Professor of Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email k.e.tanner@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Thorpe

Research Co-Investigator
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email s.thorpe@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Pankaj Vadgama

Professor and Director of IRC in Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email p.vadgama@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Wen Wang

Vice-Principal for Science and Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8871
Email wen.wang@qmul.ac.uk

^ Back to Top